History 2017-08-19T13:36:04+00:00

THE HISTORY OF TITWOOD LAWN TENNIS CLUB

Titwood Lawn Tennis Club celebrated its 125th Anniversary celebration in 2015.

Members Area
Coaching Information

OUR CLUB HISTORY

Titwood Lawn Tennis Club is based in a conservation area called Pollokshields on the south side of Glasgow City and is known as Glasgow’s very own ‘Garden Suburb’ which was planned and built in the mid-nineteenth century.

Titwood Lawn Tennis Club celebrated its 125th Anniversary celebration in 2015.

It came into existence in 1890 – that was the year the Forth Rail Bridge was opened and Queen Victoria was the monarch.  The club was formed by a number of Pollokshields residents and the ground was rented from Sir John Stirling-Maxwell, a founder member of the National Trust for Scotland, who became one of its first Vice-Presidents and President from 1943 until his death.

Initially there were two bowling greens and several tennis courts. Records show that the first tennis ball was struck on May 28, 1890 with the grounds and pavilion completed by the summer of that year.

The actual Inauguration Ceremony took place on August 30 that year with a band in attendance to provide “popular and attractive music.”  The Club was an instant success and by the first general meeting held in March, 1891, the tennis club membership had reached 211 with a further 55 holding joint bowling and tennis membership.

When cycling became really popular tennis suffered drastically, so much so that Titwood was actually dissolved in 1898 and only sprang to life again in 1903.

The club reformed in 1904 and had 75 gentlemen and 88 lady members. It was not until 1930 that junior members were admitted and 17 year olds allowed to join.

In the early 70s, interest dipped and then rose again and by 1978 the club recorded 313 members. A number that increased in the 1980s and stands at 250 today.

Our tennis clubhouse and pavilion was completed in 1925 and it was built entirely from funds subscribed by members.

It is a listed building and to this day it remains a well-loved landmark that’s praised by all visitors for its unique character.

A major boost at Titwood was the opening of our all-weather courts, which were officially opened for play on April 27, 1996. At first we had three, but today we have five all-weather, floodlit courts and we are always striving to improve our club facilities.

We cater for beginners to more advanced tennis players. We have 5 outdoor floodlit all weather courts, which are available 365 days of the year

Welcome

BECOME A MEMBER

Club and membership benefits:

  • 5 outdoor floodlit all weather courts
  • 2 outdoor clay courts
  • Access 365 days per year
  • Level 5 tennis coach
  • Vibrant social scene
  • Competitions and leagues
  • View our full events page